Sunday, August 24, 2014

CE Specialization Congress 2014 held with Dr. Lazaro III as STE resource speaker

The CE Specialization Congress 2014

The Civil Engineering Society (CES) together with the Junior Philippine Institute of Civil Engineers – Lungsod ng Maynila Chapter held its annual Specialization Congress last August 16, 2014 at the Natividad Fajardo Auditorium, DLSU, Manila. The aim of the Specialization was to introduce the CE students to the different specializations in the field – Structural Engineering (STE), Construction Management & Engineering (CTM), Transportation Engineering (TRE), and Hydraulics and Water Resources Engineering (HWR). Four resource speaker namely, Mr. Raymond Abad (TRE), Dr. Angel Lazaro III (STE), Engr. Alberto Romualdez (CTM) and Engr. Noriel Ortigas (HWR), from the industry were invited to present the scope, relevance, and job opportunities of their various specializations. 

Dr. Angel Lazaro III, a pioneer of the BSCE in DLSU and past Dean of the former College of Engineering, as he delivered his speech on Structural Engineering.  Dr. Lazaro did not only impress the audience with his credentials but also with his informative presentation.

Engr. Noriel Ortigas of PICE, as he delivered his talk on HWR.  Engr. Ortigas stressed the importance of Hydraulics and Water Resources Engineering by relating it with the other specializations.

Engr. Alberto Romualdez, graduate of DLSU Batch ’99, as he presented on Construction Technology and Management. Not only did Engr. Romualdez emphasize the significance of CTM but he also imparted beneficial pieces of advice to students about to take up specialized courses.


Mr. Raymond Abad, graduated magna cum laude from De La Salle University, was the Transportation Engineering resource speaker.  In his presentation, Mr. Abad was able to highlight the need for transportation engineers in the country.

The congress was attended by 192 students from the 13 participating schools of JPICE-LNM – Adamson University, De La Salle University, Eulogio Amang Rodrigues Institute of Science and Technology, Far Eastern University Institute of Technology, FEATI University, Mapua Institute of Technology, National University, Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila, Polytechnic University of the Philippines, Technological Institute of the Philippines, Technological University of the Philippines, University of the East, University of Santo Tomas. 

CES Officers and congress organizers with Dr. Angel Lazaro III


- Photos by: Edward Codilla III and Premo Codilla CES FB), Article by Jason Alcantara.

No comments: