Saturday, October 12, 2013

Jon Arnel Telan is DLSU's 3rd BSCE Summa Cum Laude

  Jon Arnel Telan (CIV-STE) is the third summa cum laude to earn a BSCE degree at DLSU-Manila. The 168th Commencement Exercises was held last October 12, 2013 at the PICC Pleanry Hall.
Graduating magna cum laude were Syrus Gomari and Victor Carlo Torres, both CIV-STE.. Kevin Gerard Yao (CIV-STE) graduated cum laude while the honorable mention graduates were:

  • CIV-CTM: Arjan David Alquinto, Ganna Athena Gantuangco, Timothy Jones Quidilla, Julinel Templonuevo
  • CIV-STE: Isiah Paul Alvarez, Louie Mart Montrias, Janelle Kathryn Ong, Jospeh Christopher Oropel, Joemar Revelo and Timothy Scott Uytengsu.

Special awards were given by the CE Department to the folowing:
  • Most Outstanding CE Student: Syrus Gomari
  • Most Outstanding Contribution to the CE Department: Jon Arnel Telan
  • Most Outstanding Thesis: Noel Lester Gozum, Alvn Sacaguing, Jon Arenl Telan, Victor Carlo Torres and Timothy Scott Uytengsu
The University also presented special awards to the following graduates:
  • Jose Rizal Honors Society : Jon Arnel Telan
  • Athletics Award: Paolo Ian Lucero

1. The Jose Rizal Honors Society Award is given to a student who has been in the Dean's Honors list in ALL trimesters of their curriculum years. Since the revival of BSCE at DLSU, only four graduates received this award:
  • Bryan Christopher Que (CIV, 2000-2001) - mcl
  • Alvin Christopher Varquez (CIV-HWR, 2008-2009) - scl
  • Katrina Tengki (CIV-STE, 2011-2012) - scl
  • Jon Arnel Telan (CIV-STE, 2013-2014) - scl
2. The Br. Gabriel Connon Award is given to students with a strong Christian character and outstanding accomplishment in the fields of academics, leadership, and community service. Only one BSCE graduate, Bryan Christopher Que (CIV, 2000-2001) received this award so far.

3. The Student Leadership Award is given to students who have ably balanced their academic studies with student activities. The BSCE awardees so far were:
  • Collen Mae Cordial (CIV-STE, 2007-2008)
  • Alvin Christopher Varquez (CIV-HWR, 2008-2009)
4. The Athletics Award honors students who have rendered outstanding performance in competitions as true Lasallian sportspersons. The BSCE awardees so far were:
  • Phoebee Que (CIV-STE, 2009-2010) - Volleyball
  • Paolo Ian Lucero (CIV-TRE, 2013-2014) - Cheering squad
Paolo Iam Lucero leads the Animo Squad in the Cheer Dance Competition
5. There has been no BSCE graduate yet who received the Community Development Award and the Cultural Development Award.

Program: 168th Commencement Exercises Term 1, AY2013-2014
DLSU Univesity Registrar

Thursday, October 3, 2013

DLSU Faculty Research Recognition 2013 recognizes CE completed researches

The Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation (OVCRI) and the University Research Coordinaation Office (URCO) will hold the annual Faculty Research Recognition Ceremonies on October 4, 2013 at the Henry Sy, Sr. Hall to recognize the faculty for completing internally and externally funded projects and URCO research projects, ISI-listed publications and most-cited works published in 2013.

 CE faculty members will be recognized during the ceremonies.
  • Dr. Lessandro Garciano, Dr. Renan Tanhueco and Engr. Alden Balili completed an AUN/SEED-Net and JICA research with Prof. Koike Takeshi (Kyoto University) on "Flood hazard assessment and disaster prevention planning of electric power systems in a selected city/town in the Philippines."
  • Dr. Andres Winston  Oreta and Engr. Cheryl Lynne Capiz Roxas completed their URCO project on "Outcomes-based assessment of Engineering Mechanics (STATICS) using direct and indirect methods."
  • Engr. Ronaldo Gallardo and Dr. Jonathan Dungca and their collaborators from ChE, ME and IE Departments completed an inter-disciplinary research on "Sustainability issue due to coal ash from coal-fired power plants in the Philippines Phase 2 - Sustainability solutions for an industry partner."
Interdisciplinary Research Team on Sustainability Solutions
(Martin Kalaw, Dr. Jonathan Dungca, Dr. Susan Gallardo and Engr. Ronaldo Gallardo)

  •  Dr. Andres Winston Oreta mentored an MSCE ERDT scholar, Rhea Regulacion on her thesis on "Application of response-surface methodology: Optimum mix design of concrete using slag as coarse aggregate."

Tuesday, October 1, 2013

Yen Ubay-Anongphouth: St. Benilde Romancon Pillar of Excellence Awardee in Teaching 2013

Civil Engineering Asst. Professor Irene Olivia Ubay-Anongphouth aka "YEN" was recognized and presented  the "St. Benilde Romancon Pillar of Excellence Award in Teaching" last October 1, 2013 during the celebration of World Teacher's Day at De La Salle University, Manila. The St. Benilde Romancon Pillar of Lasallian Excellence Award Excellence in Teaching is based on evidenced by any or all of the following: ITEO/peer/chair evaluation, comments and feedback from students, colleagues and alumni, support of student-sponsored activities, effective mentoring, new programs or modules developed, teaching innovations including use of technology in the classroom.

Teacher Yen handles courses on construction materials, engineering mechanics, soil mechanics and structural anlaysis. She graduated BSCE (STE) at DLSU and M.Eng. at Chulalongkorn University.

A Video created for Teacher Yen by DLSU alumni based at Chulalongkorn University