Saturday, May 30, 2009

DOST Balik Scientist Dr. Pulmano at DLSU-Manila

Dr. Victor Pulmano will be a visiting professor at the Department of Civil Engineering, DLSU-Manila during the first term SY 2009-2010 under the Balik Scientist Program (BSP) of the Department of Science and Technology (DOST). Dr. Pulmano's period of visit is 90 days (3 months beginning May 25, 2009). Dr. Pulmano, a resident of Australia and retired professor at the University of New South Wales in Sydney, is an acknowledged expert in the field of Structural Engineering particularly in structural and finite element analysis.

Dr. Pulmano is expected to give lectures on graduate/undergraduate courses on Matrix Theory of Structures and Engineering Mechanics. He will be involved in the preparation of research proposals and seminar type lecture presentation on the specialized topics such as Finite Element Modeling and Analysis.

Photo: Dr. Vic Pulmano, Engr. Ronnie Gallardo, Dr. Jonathan Dungca and Dr. Bernard Lejano during the CE Frosh Convocation last May 30, 2009.

Tuesday, May 26, 2009

Welcome FROSH 2009!

On May 30, 2009, the Civil Engineering Society (CES) and the CE Deaprtment will hold the annual departmental frosh convocation. During this event, the CE Department faculty will be introduced to the freshman batch. The convocation will be held at the Yuchengco 4th floor from 1-4 PM. The tentative program is summarized below:

  • I. Video Presentation
  • II. Opening Remarks from Vice Dean - Dr. Bernardo A. Lejano
  • III. Message from the Chair - Engr. Ronaldo S. Gallardo
  • IV. Introduction of the CE Faculty
  • V. Alumni Talks
  • VI. Open Forum
  • VII. CES
    a. Introduction of the Executive Board
    b. Message from the President
  • VIII. Snacks
  • IX. Laboratory Tour - Facilitated by Dr. Jonathan Dungca

Monday, May 25, 2009

AlumNews: Lasallian Alumni Inducted Directors of PICE-Tarlac Chapter

On April 16, 2009 two Civil Engineer Alumni Engr. Hadji Peejay Aranda (CIV-HWR 97) and Engr Michael David (CIV-CTM 92) took their oath of office as Directors in the PICE-Tarlac Chapter. Engr. Michael David also served as the Chapter President in 2006-2007. Another Lasallian alumnus, Dr. Jumar Valdez (EdD 2006) is the present IPP. Engr. Aranda is in-charge for the Chapter CPE matters and Engr David on the other hand is in charge of the community affairs. Both are very excited to contribute their time and talents for the good of the organization. Engr. Aranda said that the present set of officers will be serving in a very auspicious time. "It was sad in a way, because it was the late PICE president Aquino who chose this date for induction and yet a week later he was shot.."

Reported by : Hadji Peejay Aranda
Instructor - Civil and Sanitary Engineering, Technological Institute of the Philippines QC

Wednesday, May 13, 2009

Lasallians Topped May 2009 CE Board Exams

The DLSU-Manila faculty, alumni, students and administration wish to congratulate the alumni who topped and passed the May 2009 Civil Engineering Board Exams. Congratulations to:
  • No. 1 - Chua Man Wai (96.5%)
  • No. 2 - Alvin Varquez (95.8%)
  • No. 6 - Michael Paolo Bellosillo (94.75%)

A total of 1,199 (44%) out of 2,744 examinees passed the 2009 Civil Engineering Licensure Examinations according to the Professional Regulation Commission. Here is the list of the new Lasallian civil engineers based on the PRC website:

DLSU – Manila May 2009 CE Board Exam Passers and New Civil Engineers!
Animo La Salle!

1. Almalbis, Mark Anthony Hontiveros 2. Arias, Ariel Jesus Dumaguete 3. Baluyut, Katrina Sta Maria 4. Bellosillo, Michael Paolo Soto 5. Borja, Maurel Chito Santos 6. Calderon, Quintin Kristoffer Lontok 7. Chan, Kenley Lawrence Ong 8. Chua, Man Wai Lue 9. Fermin, Francezca Atienza 10. Follosco, Marc Angelo Samonte 11. Go, Eugene Jerome Tan 12. Hao, Nathan Wilbert
13. Hiteroza, Peter Joseph Ocampo 14. Jo, Mikhail Ivan Kristoff Lim 15. Lacson, Marcial Jr Tanhueco 16. Leaño, Van Vincent Bay 17. Leus, Sheila Maxine Ann Castillo 18. Lim, Jan Rainier 19. Manalansan, Enrico Francisco Iii Yaptinchay 20. Manalo, Justin Vittorio Talens 21. Manuel, Jeffrey Calaquian 22. Martelino, Ven Nino Gemil 23. Mendoza, Rizza Marie Campeña 24. Ocampo, Christine Uy 25. Perez, Angelica Denise Caparas 26. Punzalan, Katrina Deonio 27. Ramos, Art Jester Cosico 28. Reyes, Joseph Dante Briones 29. Suarez, Maria Celina Natividad 30. Tan-Afuan, Andrew Clark Ching 31. Trinidad, Matthew San Diego 32.Varquez, Allen Christian Galang 33. Varquez, Alvin Christopher Galang
34. Vitug, John Erik
If your name was not included in this list, please inform us.

Friday, May 8, 2009

DLSU Faculty & Students at 14AIC

DLSU CE faculty and students presented papers in the technical sessions of the 14th Association of Structural Engineers of the Philippines International Convention (14AIC) on May 21-22, 2009 at the Great Eastern Hotel, Quezon City. The two researches based on the undergraduate thesis that were presented:
(a) Rapid Visual Assessment of Steel Tower Billboards by Bernardo Lejano, Vera de Leon and Francezca Fermin
(b) The Effect of Fire on the Bending Strength of RC Beams by Bernardo Lejano, Joaquin M. Galang and Marc Neal Molina
Meanwhile, the MS thesis on Optimal Design of RC Frames Considering Seismic Provisions Using Genetic Algorithms by Alden Paul Balili and Andres Winston C. Oreta was also presented. Dr. Oreta presented his URCO research on Understanding Earthquakes and Disasters”: Photo-Video Presentations for Public Awareness and Education.