Friday, October 28, 2011

DLSU CE Dept. graduates 2nd Summa Cum Laude

Katrina C. Tengki is the 2nd BSCE Summa Cum Laude graduate of De La Salle University-Manila. Ms. Tengki was also recognized as the Outstanding Civil Engineering student. Last Oct. 15, 2011, the university graduation was held for the 1st Term AY 2011-2012 graduating students. The other civil engineering students who were also recognized for their outstanding academic and extra-curricular performance are:
  • Earl Marvin De Guzman - Magna Cum Laude and Outstanding Contribution to the CE Department
  • Christopher Rey Gozum - Magna Cum Laude
  • Mark Justin Kung - Cum Laude
  • Analyn Yee Concepcion - Cum Laude
  • Catherine Chan - Honorable Mention
  • Francis Ebanos - Honorable Mention
  • Xavier Lim - Honorable Mention
  • Iris Mae Malabatuan - Honorable Mention
  • Bertrand Teodosio - Honorable Mention
  • Erica Elice Uy - Honorable Mention
  • John Vincent Uy - Honorable Mention
  • Daniel Nichol Valerio - Honorable Mention
  • Maila Marie Victorino - Honorable Mention


Monday, October 3, 2011

Kyoto U & TCU Profs visit DLSU

Oreta, Culaba, Koike, Yoshida & Garciano - Sept 30, 2011

Professor Takeshi Koike of the Department of Civil and Earth Resources Engineering, Kyoto University and Prof. Ikumasa Yoshida of the Information System and Management Laboratory of Civil Engineering, Tokyo City University visited the Civil Engineering Department, DLSU last Sept. 30, 2011. Prof. Koike was the adviser of newly hired full time associate professor, Dr. Lessandro Garciano in Japan. Prof. Koike and Prof. Yoshida were keynote speaker  and technical paper presentor, respectively in the 15th ASEP International Convention held on Sept 28-29, 2011 at Dusit Hotel.

Prof. Koike and Prof. Yoshida visited the CE Dept. Structural Engineering Laboratory and then met with Prof. Dr. Alvin Culaba, Executive Vice Chancellor for Internationalization. They also delivered a lecture at the Graduate Course in Structural Dynamics of Dr. Garciano.

Sunday, October 2, 2011

CE Dept participates at ASEP's 50th Anniversary Convention

The Faculty Presentors
The faculty, alumni and students of the De La Salle University-Manila, Civil Engineering Department presented papers at the 50th ASEP Anniversary International Convention and Expostion held on Sept. 28-30, 2011 at the Dusit Thani Hotel, Makati City. The 50th ASEP Anniversary highlights the 15th ASEP International Convention (15AIC -  Sept. 28-29, 2011) and the 1st ASEP Software and Computing Technology Expo (A.SCTEX - Sept. 30, 2011). The faculty members who presented with their students were CE Dept. chair, Ronaldo Gallardo, Dr. Andres Oreta, Dr. Lessandro Garciano, Dr. Bernardo Lejano and Alden Paul Balili. The alumni/student presentors were Francesca Del Castillo, Krist Galicia, Daniel Valerio, El Rey Morales, Antonio Mayo III, Patricia Adiaz and David Joseph Vidad.

Alumni and Graduating Student Presentors
The papers presented at the 15AIC are listed below:
1. Assessment Of Reinforcement Corrosion In Fully Carbonated Concrete by Perlie F. Bohol, Ronaldo S. Gallardo and .Nobuaki Otsuki

2. Investigation of Concrete Mixtures for the Concrete Cover Repairs of RC Square Columns by Anna Francesca C. Del Castillo, Sarah Linette D. Cornejo, Romwell Louis L. Tan and Andres Winston C. Oreta

3. Retrofitting of RC Columns with Steel Fiber Reinforced Mortar by Bernardo A. Lejano, Krist Kevinson A. Galicia, Jonathan Vincent C. Sia and Daniel Nichol R. Valerio

4. Effects of Elevated Temperature on RC Beams Externally Bonded with CFRP by Bernardo A. Lejano, Reuben Aaron Flores, El Rey Morales and Marlon Bryan Palisoc

5. Theory of Structures Laboratory in the CE Curriculum: Understanding Structural Behavior through Laboratory Experiments by Andres Winston C. Oreta, Marcelo V. Castillo Jr., Manuel Antonio Mayo III and Ailene P. Tangonan

6. Estimating the Limit State Exceeding Probability of a Deteriorating Structure using the Kalman Filter, Extended Kalman Filter, Unscented Kalman Filter And The Sequential Monte Carlo Simulation by Lessandro Estelito Garciano and Ikumasa Yoshida

7. Retrofitting of Steel Wide Flange Beams using Exterior Post-Tensioning by Bernardo A. Lejano, Patricia C. Adiaz and David Joseph J. Vidad

The A.SCTEX, on the otherhand, highlighted the paper " Examples of Structural Modelling, Analysis and Design Automation through the SAP2000 API" by Alden Paul Balili

Saturday, October 1, 2011

Retired DLSU Prof. Estanero: Outstanding ASEP Structural Engineer!

Congratulations to Dr. Romeo Estanero, retired faculty of the Civil Engineering Department for being selected as one of the 50 Outstanding ASEP Structural Engineers. The recognition was announced during the ASEP 50th Anniversary Gala Night held on Sept. 30, 2011 at the Dusit Thani Hotel, Makati City. Estanero was the founding chair of CE Department at De La Salle University-Manila. He retired from DLSU as full professor in 2007.

Photo: From FB of Yen Ubay