Thursday, July 21, 2016

Paper on Environmental Impact of Bridges presented at SBE2016

Engr. Kevin Atienza (Right most) with his co-authors: M. Martinez, J. Joaquino, C. Gonzalez and Prof. Oreta

Last July 13-15, students, professionals, consultants, and members from the academe convened for the Sustainable Built Environment 2016 Conference held at the Acacia Hotel, Alabang, Muntinlupa City. The symposium showcased and discussed technical papers submitted by students and professionals in the field of engineering, architecture, landscape design, and urban and regional planning.

Engr. Kevin Lawrence M. Atienza, a civil engineering alumnus from De La Salle University, presented a paper entitled “A proposed methodology for quantifying the environmental impacts of the structural elements of standard bridge designs.” The study was an undergraduate thesis authored by the presenter together with Engr. Carla Maria B. Gonzalez, Engr. Jorge Jason K. Joaquino, and Engr. Mitchel Krisia R. Martinez under the advisory of Dr. Andres Winston C. Oreta.

The study discussed the integration of environmental impact assessment in engineering sustainable bridge designs. Using a Life Cycle Impact Assessment or LCIA, the authors were able to determine the potential environmental impacts produced by the extraction and manufacturing stages of a bridge. Ultimately, the study generated an Environmental Impact Score or EIS, a single-value index that indicates the environmental performance of a bridge.

The conference invited two keynote speakers, Dr. Yukio Tamura and Dr. Greg C. Foliente, for its master classes on wind engineering design and sustainable development. Hon. Mark A. Villar, secretary of the Department of Public Works and Highways, was also invited in the conference. Breakout sessions were also conducted, discussing topics on sustainable buildings, infrastructures, communities, and disaster risk management. 

- Reported by Kevin Atienza

Friday, July 1, 2016

Dr. Garciano and Engr. Abinales inducted as ASEP directors

Two faculty members of the Civil Engineering department were elected as Board of Directors (BOD) of the Association of Structural Engineers of the Philippines (ASEP). The election was held last May 20, 2016 at the Century Park Hotel during the ASEP Convention on Concrete Engineering Practice and Technology or a.concept 2016.
Dr. Lessandro Garciano, full time Assoc. Professor and head of the Structiral Engg Division of the CE Department and Engr. Adam Abinales, a part-time faculty member (ASEP past president)  were re-elected for the second straight year as members of the ASEP BOD.

The oath taking ceremony took place last Monday, June 27 at the 7 corners restaurant, Crown Plaza Hotel in Ortigas. The oath of office was administered by incoming DOLE Secretary Silvestro Bello III.

The CE Faculty members of DLSU are active members of ASEP. Dr. Andy Oreta and Dr. Bernardo Lejano are ASEP fellows while Dr. Jonathan Dungca, Dr. Mary Ann Adajar and Engr. Ronaldo Gallardo are regular members of ASEP.