Saturday, October 12, 2013

Jon Arnel Telan is DLSU's 3rd BSCE Summa Cum Laude

  Jon Arnel Telan (CIV-STE) is the third summa cum laude to earn a BSCE degree at DLSU-Manila. The 168th Commencement Exercises was held last October 12, 2013 at the PICC Pleanry Hall.
Graduating magna cum laude were Syrus Gomari and Victor Carlo Torres, both CIV-STE.. Kevin Gerard Yao (CIV-STE) graduated cum laude while the honorable mention graduates were:

  • CIV-CTM: Arjan David Alquinto, Ganna Athena Gantuangco, Timothy Jones Quidilla, Julinel Templonuevo
  • CIV-STE: Isiah Paul Alvarez, Louie Mart Montrias, Janelle Kathryn Ong, Jospeh Christopher Oropel, Joemar Revelo and Timothy Scott Uytengsu.

Special awards were given by the CE Department to the folowing:
  • Most Outstanding CE Student: Syrus Gomari
  • Most Outstanding Contribution to the CE Department: Jon Arnel Telan
  • Most Outstanding Thesis: Noel Lester Gozum, Alvn Sacaguing, Jon Arenl Telan, Victor Carlo Torres and Timothy Scott Uytengsu
The University also presented special awards to the following graduates:
  • Jose Rizal Honors Society : Jon Arnel Telan
  • Athletics Award: Paolo Ian Lucero

1. The Jose Rizal Honors Society Award is given to a student who has been in the Dean's Honors list in ALL trimesters of their curriculum years. Since the revival of BSCE at DLSU, only four graduates received this award:
  • Bryan Christopher Que (CIV, 2000-2001) - mcl
  • Alvin Christopher Varquez (CIV-HWR, 2008-2009) - scl
  • Katrina Tengki (CIV-STE, 2011-2012) - scl
  • Jon Arnel Telan (CIV-STE, 2013-2014) - scl
2. The Br. Gabriel Connon Award is given to students with a strong Christian character and outstanding accomplishment in the fields of academics, leadership, and community service. Only one BSCE graduate, Bryan Christopher Que (CIV, 2000-2001) received this award so far.

3. The Student Leadership Award is given to students who have ably balanced their academic studies with student activities. The BSCE awardees so far were:
  • Collen Mae Cordial (CIV-STE, 2007-2008)
  • Alvin Christopher Varquez (CIV-HWR, 2008-2009)
4. The Athletics Award honors students who have rendered outstanding performance in competitions as true Lasallian sportspersons. The BSCE awardees so far were:
  • Phoebee Que (CIV-STE, 2009-2010) - Volleyball
  • Paolo Ian Lucero (CIV-TRE, 2013-2014) - Cheering squad
Paolo Iam Lucero leads the Animo Squad in the Cheer Dance Competition
5. There has been no BSCE graduate yet who received the Community Development Award and the Cultural Development Award.

Program: 168th Commencement Exercises Term 1, AY2013-2014
DLSU Univesity Registrar

No comments: