Friday, October 25, 2019

7th Seminar/Workshop on the Utilization of Waste Materials (WOW2019)

Last September 14, 2019, the 7th Seminar/Workshop on the Utilization of Waste Materials (WOW2019) was held at the Henry Sy, Sr. Hall. The seminar workshop was attended by 57 total number of participants and there were a total of 33 papers for parallel sessions from different universities.

The Seminar/Workshop on the Utilization of Waste Materials is an innovative meeting for all researchers and engineers from around the globe where ideas and experiences from different disciplines are exchanged to promote waste utilization technology and practices towards a sustainable environment. It aims to create better awareness and application of engineering innovations towards sustainable development.

The keynote speakers were:
Dr. Fumitake Takahashi (Associate Professor, Tokyo Institute of Technology)
 Dr. Kiyohiko Nakasaki (Professor, Tokyo Institute of Technology)
Engr. Reynaldo G. Tagudando (Director, Bureau of Research and Standards DPWH)
Engr. Joel Jude A. Tadeo (Senior Mechanical Consultant, Arcadis Philippines Inc.)
Engr. Raul C. Sabularse (Deputy Executive Director, DOST-PCIEERD)
Engr. Einstein Chua (Megawide Construction Corporation)

Also, a special presentation and workshop was presented by Rosalinda "Rosalie" Lopez-Fuentes (Ecobricks Philippines).

Best papers were awarded to the following:
(1) Utilization of Coal Fly Ash and Bagasse Fly Ash for Pervious Geopolymer Synthesis
Authors: Jacen Mariel Catapang (4th year BSChE), Charles Steven Chang (4th Yr BS ChE), Kenneth Collo (4th yr BS ChE), April Tigue (1st yr PhD ChE) Winarto Kurniawan, Hirofumi Hinode, Aileen Orbecido, Michael Angelo Promentilla
(2) Determination of the Carbon Dioxide Sequestration Potential of a Nickel Mine Mixed Dump through Leaching Tests
Authors: Bernard Razote (BS ChE), Mark Maranan, Ramon Christian Eusebio, Richard Alorro, Arnel Beltran, Aileen Orbecido, Kimmie Dela Cerna (MS ChE)
(3) PET Bottles as Geocells applies as soil stabilizer in dirt roads
Authors: Rajiv Eldon E. Abdullah, Peter S. Lim, Alesca Nicole C. Branbante, Kyle Joshua Caralde and Nuary Deniece Coloma

No comments: